top of page

Making Yourself A Priority


So as a wife and a mother I find myself making a great effort to meet the needs of my family. I'm suppose to right. After my first child, I struggled... how can I possibly do everything I did before the baby (as a wife working full time) in addition to actually having a baby. All of those daily and weekly chores. I was frustrated to say the least. A conversation with my mom left me with words I'll never forget. She told me, "When you make your to-do list, always make sure YOU are on it." At that time, I was doing just the opposite. I would end the day saying to myself, tomorrow I'll try to get in some type of exercise. Really Nina? Who was I kidding. But seriously, how can I possibly give my all to anyone if I'm never at 100%? Never having enough sleep, diet out of control, overweight, apparently no time for anything involving me. The truth of the matter is, we have time for the things (and people) that are important to us. So I realized I needed to learn to love myself better than what I was doing. No more beating up on myself. So what, if I didn't have time to fold a basket of laundry or feel like cooking dinner today. My family didn't love me any less because of it. I was still a good mother and wife when I left them at home to go to the gym. What a surprise right? LOL


This is why we have to do things on purpose with a purpose. Go to bed knowing that you're going to get up giving yourself the proper attention you need. If you're trying to lose weight, then it's time to start loving yourself again. Let the people in your house know what you're trying to accomplish. I told my husband my struggles and what I was trying to do and he started doing more around the house and stepping in more with our children as well as giving me the time I needed to go to the gym when I wanted. If you have a siginificant other, best friend or family you can lean on... talk to them. Sometimes, they are what we need to fill the gap. At the end of the day, we are responsible for ourselves. What we do/say to ourselves, what we put into our bodies, whether or not we are in shape, etc. Tell yourself... self, no more excuses. You can do this. No mountain is too high to be climbed. You have the power within yourself to change. Hug yourself. Smile at yourself in the mirror and feed words of encouragement to yourself. YOU CAN DO THIS!


YOUR LIST OF PRIORITIES:

- GOD

- You

- Everybody/thing else


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Follow Nina:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor. What's shared here are my views and experiences. You should always consult with your doctor for medical advice. I'm also a believer in speaking with a nutritionist to gain insight on what's best for you in your weight loss goals and overall health.

 

© 2023 by The Plan. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page