top of page

The Mental Hump... more like mountain


Climbing over the mountain pictured above is how I visualised losing weight... looks impossible so why even try?... at least that's how I was feeling. I knew that changing my mindset had to happen. This is major. You know, the part where you make up your mind that you're going to start this weight loss journey. Not only start it, but commit to the journey in its entirety. Bottom line, losing weight isn't easy. I know first hand. I dealt quite some time with putting forth some effort but not seeing the results I wanted. Getting frustrated, depressed and just quitting all together. There's no magical formula to starting. At the end of the day, you are the one to decide that today is the day. No one can make you do anything you aren't ready to commit to. It doesn't matter if you have a doctor behind you, a nutritionist behind you, a trainer, a gym membership, your friends and family cheering you on, etc... If you have not made up your mind that you are going to commit to eating all the right things and exercising on a regular then you will waste money for a gym membership that you're not utilizing, waste money on visits to a doctor or nutritionist when you're not taking their advice... You get what I'm saying here? The tools are within reach but it takes your commitment for it all to work in your favor.


Nina, how did you get motivated to say, today is the day? I'm glad you asked. It happened when I was crying to God in the shower for about the thousandth time. At the time, I had a toddler and a baby AND I was dealing with depression. I told the Lord that I needed help. I couldn't even be specific... I just said, "Jesus I don't even know what I need, I just know I don't want to be like this anymore." It actually brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it because I was so mentally strained and drained. I don't know how much prayer means to you but God is what brought me through it. I got out of the shower that day with an answer from God letting me know that I had the power and complete control to change my situation. I looked... no stared at myself in the mirror until it was like I was looking at another person. Then, I began to speak to myself; telling myself, "Nina, you can do this." I literally brought myself to tears. I spoke more affirming words to myself until I felt like I could conquer the world.


Don't be afraid to ask for help. I think that's a stumbling block for many. We sometimes see it as weakness but it actually takes a large amount of strength to take that step. DON'T BE AFRAID! I'll leave with a verse that got me through many situations... "Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest." Joshua 1:9


I'm rooting for you!

~ Nina

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Follow Nina:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor. What's shared here are my views and experiences. You should always consult with your doctor for medical advice. I'm also a believer in speaking with a nutritionist to gain insight on what's best for you in your weight loss goals and overall health.

 

© 2023 by The Plan. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page